Ahuriri Community Board Inauguration of three new members

Published on 16 February 2023


On Wednesday 15 February 2023, Mike King, Alan Pont, and Karen Turner gave their declarations of office to Waitaki District Mayor Gary Kircher to become new members of the Ahuriri Community Board.  

Stephen Dally and Calum Reid were declared elected unopposed following the Local Government Elections on 8 October 2022. There were three extraordinary vacancies remaining on the Ahuriri Community Board. 

Nominations to fill those vacancies via an Ahuriri By-Election opened on 24 November 2022 and closed on 22 December 2022. As the number of nominations received did not exceed the number of vacancies, Mike King, Alan Pont, and Karen Turner were declared elected unopposed by the Waitaki District Electoral Officer and publicly notified.  

Local elections are held every 3 years, with the public deciding who represents us on District Council, Community Boards and Licensing Trusts. The people elected to Council make decisions that impact our daily lives and the future of our towns.