Council Committees

Committees in the Waitaki District Council are set up to deal with specialised local issues. Councillors are appointed to committees and make decisions regarding their areas.

The Mayor is a member of all committees with full voting rights [LGA 41A(5)].

The new Committee structure for Council for the 2019 – 2022 Triennium is provided below.

It was adopted initially at the 30 October 2019 First Council Meeting of the Triennium, and then amended and adopted again at the 18 February 2020 Council Meeting.


Council's Committee Structure for 2019 - 2022

Committees Chairperson Members
Assets Committee (AC)

Cr Bill Kingan

(to be appointed in February 2021)
(Associate Chair – Solid Waste and Recycling)

Mayor Gary Kircher
(Associate Chair – Property, Events Centre)

Cr Colin Wollstein, Cr Kelli Williams, Cr Guy Percival, Cr Jeremy Holding, Cr Jim Thomson and Deputy Mayor Melanie Tavendale

Community, Culture and Regulatory Committee (CCR)

Deputy Mayor Melanie Tavendale

Cr Jim Hopkins
(Associate Chair – District PlanReview)

Cr Hana Halalele
(Associate Chair – Community Development)

Cr Kelli Williams, Cr Ross McRobie, Cr Jim Thomson and Mayor Gary Kircher

Performance, Audit and Risk Committee (PAR) Cr Colin Wollstein Cr Jeremy Holding
(Associate Chair – Information Services)

Cr Ross McRobie
(Associate Chair – Risk)

Cr Jim Hopkins, Cr Bill Kingan, Cr Guy Percival,
Cr Hana Halalele, and Mayor Gary Kircher
Executive Committee (EC)

Mayor Gary Kircher

Deputy Mayor Melanie Tavendale
(Associate Chair– Economic Development)

Cr Colin Wollstein, Cr Bill Kingan, Cr Ross McRobie, Cr Kelli Williams

Harbour Area Committee (HAC)

Mayor Gary Kircher

Cr Jeremy Holding
(Associate Chair – Cape Wanbrow)

Deputy Mayor Melanie Tavendale, Cr Colin Wollstein, andCr Kelli Williams; and Mr Graeme Clark (Community Representative), Dr Phillipa Agnew (CommunityRepresentative), Mr Kevin Murdoch (Community Representative), Mr George Kelcher (Community Representative)

Grants and Awards Committee (GAC) Cr Jeremy Holding Cr Hana Halalele
(Associate Chair – Creative Communities, Sport Travel)

All Councillors and Community Board Chairs (Appropriate number of Councillors rostered to each funding round annually)

Appointed community members as required

Development Contributions Committee (DC)

Cr Guy Percival

Cr Kelli Williams (Associate Chair)

Cr Jim Thomson (Associate Chair)

Cr Bill Kingan, Cr Colin Wollstein

Hearings Committee (HC)

Cr Jim Hopkins

Deputy Mayor Melanie Tavendale (Associate Chair), Cr Ross McRobie

District Licensing Committee “A” (DLC) Cr Jim Hopkins Cr Kelli Williams (Associate Chair)
Communications Portfolio Mayor Gary Kircher

Deputy Mayor Melanie Tavendale

Cr Jim Hopkins


External and JointCommittees, Trusts Representatives
Community Board Councillors (Legislated)

Cr Jim Thomson – Waihemo
Cr Ross McRobie – Ahuriri 

Waitaki District Youth Council Cr Hana Halalele
Deputy Mayor Melanie Tavendale
Lower Waitaki Zone Committee Cr Jim Hopkins
Upper Waitaki Zone Committee Cr Ross McRobie
Otago Regional Land Transport Committee
Cr Guy Percival
Waitaki Housing Taskforce Deputy Mayor Melanie Tavendale
Alps 2 Ocean Joint Committee
Cr Colin Wollstein
Observatory Retirement Village Trust Mayor Gary Kircher
Oamaru Whitestone Civic Trust No elected member appointment
Emergency Management (Legislated) Mayor Gary Kircher
Otago Mayoral Forum (Legislated) Mayor Gary Kircher
Canterbury Mayoral Forum (Legislated) Mayor Gary Kircher
Waitaki CommunityRecreation Centre Trust Cr Jeremy Holding
Donald and Nellye Malcolm Trust

Mayor Gary Kircher
Cr Jeremy Holding

Macraes Community DevelopmentTrust Cr Jim Thomson
Waitaki Whitestone Geopark Trust Cr Ross McRobie