Local body elections are your chance to choose a voice to represent you, the voice might even be your own!

The elections are held under the Local Electoral Act 2001 and associated regulations.

Elections of local authority members are held once every three years nationwide. In Waitaki, elections are held for Council, Community Boards, District Health Boards (DHBs) and the Oamaru Licensing Trust.

Waitaki District Council, regional council, community board and licensing trust elections are conducted under the First Past the Post (FPP) electoral system. DHB elections are conducted using the Single Transferable Vote (STV) system. For more information about STV and FPP please visit localcouncils website.

General Elections

To enrol please go to www.vote.nz website.