Total fire ban for Otago

​​Fire and Emergency New Zealand (FENZ) has imposed​​ a Prohibited Fire Season throughout Otago until furthur notice. 

A Prohibited Fire Season requires a total fire ban and/or the suspension of certain operations that pose a fire risk. A Prohibited Fire Season may apply in both Urban and Rural Fire Districts.​

In a Prohibited Season, Council will no longer issue fire permits. Current permits issued under the Waitaki District Urban Fire Prevention Bylaw do not allow a permit holder to light a fire in the open air during a prohibited fire season. 

During Prohibited Fire Season gas barbeques authorised however the lighting of fires in the open air or use of pyrotechnics (e​g fireworks) is prohibited.

For more information on Fire Seasons and Zone Boundaries, visit​on/fire-season/

Page reviewed: 26 Feb 2018 6:07pm