H2OurHealth Highly Commended at LGNZ EXCELLENCE Awards

10/07/2019 12:00 a.m.

At the LGNZ Conference in Wellington on 8 July, 2019, ​the Excellence Awards, in their sixth year, were announced at the conference dinner. The Waitaki District Council’s water pipeline project, H2OurHealth – a 34-kilometre pipeline from Oamaru to Hampden to supply safe and reliable drinking water ‒ was one of 15 finalists from over 40 entries spread across 5 categories.

Up against some serious competition in the Economic Wellbeing category (where the winner was ultimately the Wellington Waterfront development), Mayor for Waitaki, Gary Kircher said, “I was immensely proud to have our entry be awarded the Highly Commended prize - recognition of the excellent work done by our team, our contractors, and our community. A huge thank you, and congratulations to all involved from right across the organisation in helping make this project happen, proving that small Councils and communities can do great work! It is our collective passion and work that has delivered success for our communities.”

The EXCELLENCE awards recognise and celebrate the key leadership role local government plays within communities around the country.


  • Fulton Hogan LOCAL EXCELLENCE Award: Gisborne District Council, Tupapa – Our Stand Our Story
  • MartinJenkins EXCELLENCE Award for Economic Wellbeing: Wellington City Council, Wellington Waterfront
  • Creative New Zealand EXCELLENCE Award for Cultural Well-being: Wellington City Council, Wellington on a Plate festival
  • EXCELLENCE Award for Social Well-being: Palmerston North City Council, Festival of Cultures
  • Air New Zealand EXCELLENCE Award for Environmental Well-being: Taranaki District Council, Riparian Management Programme

  • EXCELLENCE Award for Social Well-being: Hurunui District Council, Taking the Plunge – the story of HDC and the Waiau Pool; and Napier City Counci, new Andersen Park Playground
  • MartinJenkins EXCELLENCE Award for Economic Well-being: Waitaki District Council, H2OurHealth – Waitaki Water for Connected Communities

  • Te Tari Taiwhenua Internal Affairs EXCELLENCE Award for Outstanding Contribution to Local Government: Penny Hulse (West Auckland councillor); John Forbes (Opotiki Mayor)

For more information and videos of the winning entries, go to the LGNZ excellence awards webpage​

Page reviewed: 10 Jul 2019 10:43am