Council Committees

​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​Committees in the Waitaki District Council are set up to deal with specialised local issues. ​Councillors are appointed to committees and make decisions regarding their areas. 

​The Mayor is a member of all committees with full voting rights [LGA 41A(5)]. ​​​​

The new Committee structure for Council for the 2019 – 2022 Triennium is provided below.

It was adopted initially at the 30 October 2019 First Council Meeting of the Triennium, and then amended and adopted again at the 18 February 2020 Council Meeting.

Update 16 December 2020:  The Committee Structure for Council has been updated today.

Council's Committee Structure for 2019 - 2022  

​​​​​Assets Co​​​​​​mmittee​ (AC)

​Cr Bill Kingan​

(to be appointed in February 2021) 
(Associate Chair – Solid Waste and Recycling)

Mayor Gary Kircher 
(Associate Chair – Property, Events Centre)

Cr Colin Wollstein, Cr Kelli Williams
Cr Guy Percival, Cr Jeremy Holding​, and
Deputy Mayor Melanie Tavendale
Community, Culture and Regulatory Committee (CCR)

​​Deputy Mayor Melanie Tavendale

Cr Jim Hopkins 
(Associate Chair – District Plan  Review)

Cr Hana Halalele 
(Associate Chair – Community Development)

Cr Kelli Williams, Cr Ross McRobie, 
and Mayor Gary Kircher​
Performance, Audit and Risk Committee (PAR)​Cr Colin Wollstein ​Cr Jeremy Holding
(Associate Chair – Information Services)

Cr Ross McRobie
(Associate Chair – Risk)

Cr Jim Hopkins, Cr Bill Kingan, 
Cr Guy Percival, 
Cr Hana Halalele, and Mayor Gary Kircher​
Executive Committee (EC)

Mayor Gary Kircher

Deputy Mayor Melanie Tavendale 
(Associate Chair – Economic Development) ​

Cr Colin Wollstein, Cr Bill Kingan, 
Cr Ross McRobie, Cr Kelli Williams​​
​​Harbour Area Committee (HAC)​

​Mayor Gary Kircher 

Cr Jeremy Holding 
(Associate Chair – Cape Wanbrow)

Deputy Mayor Melanie Tavendale, 
Cr Colin Wollstein, and Cr Kelli Williams; and
Mr Graeme Clark (Community Representative) 
Dr Phillipa Agnew (Community Representative)
Mr Kevin Murdoch (Community Representative)
Mr George Kelcher (Community Representative)​
Grants and Awards Committee (GAC)​​Cr Jeremy Holding ​​Cr Hana Halalele
(Associate Chair – Creative Communities,
Sport Travel)

All Councillors and Community Board Chairs
(Appropriate number of Councillors rostered to each funding round annually)

Appointed community members as required
Development Contributions Committee (DC)​

​​Cr Guy Percival 

Cr Kelli Williams (Associate Chair)

Cr Bill Kingan, Cr Colin Wollstein
Hearings Committee (HC)

​​Cr Jim Hopkins 

Deputy Mayor Melanie Tavendale (Associate Chair),
Cr Ross McRobie​​
District Licensing Committee “A” (DLC)​Cr Jim Hopkins ​​Cr Kelli Williams (Associate Chair)
​​Communications Portfolio​​Mayor Gary Kircher
Deputy Mayor Melanie Tavendale
Cr Jim Hopkins

​External and Joint Committees​​, Trusts​Representives
​Community Board Councillors (Legislated)
Waihemo Ward Councillor (to be elected April 2021)
Cr Ross McRobie – Ahuriri
​Waitaki District Youth Council​Cr Hana Halalele
Deputy Mayor Melanie Tavendale
​Lower Waitaki Zone Committee​Cr Jim Hopkins
Upper Waitaki Zone CommitteeCr Ross McRobie
Otago Regional Land Transport Committee
Cr Guy Percival​
Waitaki Housing TaskforceDeputy Mayor Melanie Tavendale​
Alps2Ocean Joint Committee
Cr Colin Wollstein​
Observatory Retirement Village TrustMayor ​Gary Kircher
​Oamaru Whitestone Civic Trust​No elected member appointment
​Emergency Management (Legislated)​Mayor Gary Kircher
​Otago Mayoral Forum (Legislated)​Mayor Gary Kircher 
​Canterbury Mayoral Forum (Legislated)​Mayor Gary Kircher
​Waitaki Community Recreation Centre Trust​Cr Jeremy Holding
​Donald and Nellye Malcolm Trust
Mayor Gary Kircher
Cr Jeremy Holding
​Macraes Community Development Trust(to be appointed in April 2021)
​Waitaki Whitestone Geopark Trust​​Cr Ross McRobie

Page reviewed: 06 Mar 2021 5:42pm