Oamaru Refuse Transfer Station

The Oamaru Refuse Transfer Station is owned and operated by Waste Management NZ Limited. It replaces the Oamaru Landfill, which closed in April 2017.

Location: 13 Industrial Place, Oamaru.

Oamaru Refuse Transfer Station map

Opening hours:

Monday to Friday 8am -5pm
Saturday 9am - 5pm
Sunday Closed
Refuse Transfer Station is closed on Christmas Day, New Year’s Day, Good Friday and ANZAC morning (until 1pm.)


Please visit the Waste Management website for current prices.

  • Charges for disposing of waste at the transfer station are set by Waste Management.
  • All payments to be made at Refuse Transfer Station using EFTPOS, credit card or account (prior arrangement required).

Waste types accepted

  • All dry general waste (if you have wet or special waste, please contact Waste Management who will advise you on how best to manage this)
  • Recyclables: Plastic, cardboard, paper and metal cans (if you have items which may be reusable or other recyclable items please take these to the Waitaki Resource Recovery Park on Chelmer Street). For more information please go to Waitaki Resource Recovery Park page.

For more information please visit Waste Management website or call Waste Management on 0800 10 10 10.