Community funding and awards

At different times of the year, we offer awards and funding to individuals and organisations across a variety of areas. Find out what funding is available to you and information about the awards we sponsor and support.

Creative Communities Scheme, Waitaki Heritage Fund, and Waitaki Biodiversity Fund are open for application now.   

Fund grant schedule

Community Group Grants

  • opens Monday 6 February 2023 -  closes Friday 10 March 2023   
  • opens Monday 3 July 2023 -  closes Friday 4 August 2023

Creative Communities Scheme

  • opens Friday 4 November 2022 -  closes Friday 2 December 2022   
  • opens Monday 6 February 2023 -  closes Friday 13 March 2023
  • opens Monday 3 July 2023 - closes Friday 4 August 2023 

Donald & Nellye Malcolm Trust

  • opens Tuesday 1 August 2023 and closes Thursday 31 August 2023

Sport NZ Rural Travel Fund

  • opens Monday 20 March 2023 and closes Friday 21 April 2023

Citizens' Awards

  • opens Monday 3 July 2023 and closes Friday 28 July 2023

Waitaki Heritage Fund

  • opens Tuesday 1 November 2022 -  closes Monday 16 January 2023  
  • opens Wednesday 1 March 2023 -  closes Monday 15 May 2023
  • opens Monday 3 July 2023 - closes Friday 15 September 2023

Waitaki Biodiversity Fund

  • Applications will be assessed twice a year in February and August

Waitaki Waste Minimisation Grant

  • opens Tuesday 1 August 2023 - closes Wednesday 30 August 2023

Throughout the year other potential funding and grants opportunities for our community are identified which will be published on the Stronger Waitaki Funding web page on a regular basis. This initiative has been developed by the Waitaki District Council to support our people, families, community groups and service providers, especially those impacted by COVID-19. Find a list of funding opportunities here.