Otago Fire Season changes

​​​Fire and Emergency New Zealand has given notice that from 2 December Saturday 2017 a Restricted Fire Season will be declared in the Coastal Zone and a Prohibited Fire Season will be declared in the Central Zone.

In a prohibited season Council will no longer issue fire permits. Current permits issued in the Central Zone under the Waitaki District Urban Fire Prevention Bylaw do not allow a permit holder to light a fire in the open air during a prohibited fire season. 

In a restricted season, fire is by permit only in both the rural and urban fire districts. For a permit to burn in the open air in the rural district, applicants can apply online at ​​Otago Fire and Emergency New Zealand​ website or contact FENZ on 0800 673473. People wishing to burn in the urban district should contact us on 03 4330300.

Applicants can establish which zone the permit is required for by using the fire season map at www.otagoruralfire.org.nz/fire-season/fire-season/​​​​​​​​​​​​​​

Otago Fire Season Map.

Page reviewed: 11 Dec 2017 10:47am